Boston Veggie


The few vegan restaurants in Metro Boston
November 3, 2009, 1:56 pm
Filed under: Restaurant reviews

There are very few vegan restaurants in Boston. Even worse, there are practically none in Back Bay where I live. If you live in Cambridge or Allston it seems you’re good to go, but in Back Bay we got NADA. Given the slim pickin’s of Boston’s veg restaurants, here is a list of the vegan restaurants that DO exist in the Metro Boston area. I’ll give a thumbs up or thumbs down to the ones I liked and the ones I didn’t like.

Grasshopper
Located at One North Beacon Street in Allson.
MBTA: Allston Street Stop on Green Line B Trolly, then it’s about a 1/4 mile walk. OR # 57, 64 or 66 bus stops in Union Square.
This restaurant is all vegan and Asian. I wasn’t thrilled with this place. I’ve tried it about three times, but in general I think I’m going to have to give it a thumbs down. It’s all fake meat, and not very good fake meat at that. It’s not the easiest thing to get to by T, and when I’ve ordered it, it took literally hours. Thumbs down.

Grezzo Restaurant
Located at 69 Prince Street in Boston’s North End
Take the green or orange lines to Haymarket and head into the North End from there.
This restaurant is all raw vegan. I went through a period where all I wanted in the world was to be a raw foodist, but it is really really hard and really really expensive, especially in Boston. A meal for two here at Grezzo cost ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS and NONE of the food is cooked! Imagine that ( I should note we shared app’s and dessert, and we only drank water). The appetizers I’ve had were great (they change seasonally, but give the “sliders” a try… they were delish!) and the dessert was SINFUL. I had some type of brownie vanilla ice cream treat and it was SO good. But the most expensive part of the meal, the main entree, has always let me down. I’ve never had a good one. AND they don’t serve alcohol, big debbie-downer there. Sooo I’m going to give a sideways thumb for this restaurant. I think it’s worth a visit, I loved those sliders and the dessert, but I probably wouldn’t go back. Also, make sure you call to make a reservation… the line is always out the door. Sideways thumb.

My Thai Vegan Cafe and Bubble Tea Bistro
3 Beach Street, 2nd floor, at corner of Washington ST.
Take the Orange Line to Chinatown or Green Line to Boylston.
This restaurant gets a HUGE RUBBER FOAM THUMBS UP from me . Although most Asian places have vegan-friendly options, My Thai Vegan Cafe has all the stuff we can’t get, but VEGAN! For example, I love lo mein, but most lo mein noodles contain eggs. At My Thai Vegan, I get the Chicken Lo Mein with no worry of its ingredients! There are a zillion things on the menu ranging from Thai to Chinese and everything in between, but I’m just glad I can get some of my childhood favorites here and that they taste really really REALLY good. Also, they have vegan bubble tea. I don’t know about you, but I love bubble tea! Definitely worth a visit. It’s right near the movie theater in the Commons so I usually go right before or after a movie. Great for date night! HUGE THUMBS UP.

TJ Scallywaggle’s Vegan House of Pizza
Right next to Grasshopper, 487 Cambridge Street (Union Square), Allston (Boston)
MBTA: Allston Street stop on Green Line B trolley, then walk north on Allston St. 1/4 mile and turn left into Union Square. Or, Buses #57, #64, #66 stop in Union Square.
Ooooooooh TJ Scallywagg’s… what can I say about you. For vegan junk food, this is the place to go. I ordered the Chicken Parmesan sub and my boyfriend ordered the “Meatza” calzone. I did not enjoy my sub, but I loved his calzone. The fake sausage here is fantastic. I wasn’t a big “sausage” fan prior to veganism, I was more of a pepperoni/bacon/prosciutto kind of a girl, but their sausage is good. The fake cheese here looks really weird, so I wasn’t a fan of that either. And I know this place is for junk food, but it annoys me that you can’t order some type of whole wheat or multi grain pizza dough. I’m sure there are plenty of Veggies in it for the animals, but I’m in it for me. So can you please offer us “health minded” veggies some options? Even Pizza Hut has whole wheat crust now a days! Thumbs down.

Veggie Planet
47 Palmer Street, Downstairs
Take the Red Line to Harvard Square or the # 1 Bus
*** Cash only
Veggie Planet is a vegetarian restaurant that has vegetarian and vegan pizzas or rice dishes, and a brunch on Sundays. I got the Vegan Oddlot (fresh marinated tomatoes, spinach, and homemade tofu-basil mash topped with kalamata olives and fried garlic) and my friend got the Caesar salad pizza (vegan). I loved both of our meals, and there were so many things to choose from! Almost anything on this menu can be made vegan with a few substitutions, and the weekly specials are almost always vegan. I’ve heard that the brunch is divine, though I haven’t tried it yet. Veggie Planet is a Thumbs Up for me.

Vej Naturals
264 Washington Street, Malden
MBTA:  100 yds. from the Oak Grove stop on the Orange Line
Vej Naturals is currently under construction so they are not available to eat at right now, but in a few weeks I’m sure they will be up and running again. And it’s a good thing too: this restaurant is tiny, sooo tiny. There were literally four tables crammed into a space even too small for that small amount of tables. So I hope that gets improved. I went for brunch. A friend and I split the tofu scramble and pancakes, which were both really good. But the service was horrible, and it’s probably a half hour if not more ride on the T. For me, though the food was good, it was not worth the trip, and not worth the pathetic excuse for a waiting staff they employ. It’s going to have to be a thumbs down on this one.

Wheeler’s Cafe and Ice Cream Bar
Located at 334 Mass Ave at the corner of Mass Ave and Huntington.
Orange line to Massachusetts Avenue or Green line to Symphony.
Finally! A vegan joint in Back Bay! woo hoo. The problem? The food here is terrible. The ice cream is FANTASTIC, try the Reese’s flavor or the Cherry Chocolate or really any flavor is amazing. But the food, the “sandwiches” and “salads” are horrible. They are pre-made days in advance so the bread is really soggy and just generally not a good experience. For ice cream? HUGE thumbs up. For lunch? Even bigger thumbs down.

Red Lentil Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant
600 Mount Auburn Street, Watertown
Take the Red Line to Harvard Square, then bus #71 to Watertown Sq.
I have never been to Red Lentil, but I looked at the menu and it looked awesome! Very veggie-oriented which I like, meaning they don’t focus on the fake stuff. Most of their meals center around vegetables and all the meals look delicious and good for you. I’ve never been, but based on the menu I give it a thumbs up, based on the location, thumbs down.

So there you have it. The only vegan restaurants in Boston. And I only gave a few thumbs up. As you can see, most are in Cambridge or Allston, which is not near where I live. Go out and see for yourself what you like and what you don’t, and let me know if you agree or disagree with my reviews.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] how would you get omnivores to go with you? There is A raw restaurant in Boston called Grezzo which I have reviewed before. It was okay, but very expensive. Even on this five day stint, I’m probably not going to go […]

Pingback by Raw for a week! « Boston Veggie




Leave a Reply

