Boston Veggie


Raw Results
November 20, 2009, 1:24 am
Filed under: Personal

Four days ago, I enthusiastically began a “five day raw cleanse.” Four days into it, I AM QUITTING. The raw lifestyle is just not for me. I thought I would feel the same way I felt when I first went vegan, full of energy and healthier than ever before, but to my chagrin all I felt was HUNGRY. And the thing is, I eat ALL DAY. When you’re raw, you have to eat all day to maintain normal caloric intake. But the recipes I tried weren’t very good, and I always wished that I had just eaten the ingredients separately. Like last night I made a “soup” with avocado, spinach, garlic, salt and pepper. Sounds like it could work, right? WRONG. The texture was really gross, and I found myself closing my eyes and forcing this gloppy green goo down my throat. If I had just had an avocado, and also some spinach, that would have been significantly better.

But this little experiment certainly proved to me how perfect my vegan lifestyle is. Compared to being raw, being vegan is like a walk in the park. Someone once justified their choice to eat meat and cheese by saying “Life is too short to eat things that don’t taste good.” And that person was absolutely right. My vegan food tastes OH soooo good, while still being so good for me. Every so often I crave the crisp taste of a carrot or a piece of celery, but I don’t crave that flavor all day everyday. And that was what raw life was like for me. Going vegan was so easy because while I was improving my nutrition, I was not sacrificing flavor.

Another great thing that came out of this experiment: GOJI BERRIES. I had never even heard of goji berries before, much less eaten them, but I tried them this week. They don’t taste AMAZING, but they are so full of nutrition that I will definitely be sneaking them into food. For example, I like smoothies. I make smoothies all the time. And it will be very easy to sneak these little gems into “berry themed” smoothies. They have 19 AMINO ACIDS, including the 8 that are essential for life, 21 minerals, protein, B-complex vitamins, Vitamin E, essential fatty acids, and so many other things.

So now my five day cleanse has turned into a four day one. I definitely feel like I gave it a valiant effort, I really tried to enjoy it while it lasted, but I will take warm, soothing, COOKED soup over cold gloppy goo any day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

